Buxton International Festival

BBC Philharmonic

Octagon, Pavilion Gardensbutton--dates-and-timesDates & Times

Jennifer Pike Violin
John Wilson Conductor

O Nicolai Overture to The Merry Wives of Windsor
M Bruch Violin Concerto No. 1
A Sullivan Overture di Ballo
F Delius Summer Night on the River
E Coates The Three Elizabeths – Suite

After a triumphant first appearance at the 2019 Festival, the BBC Philharmonic returns to Buxton. Also returning is BIF’s artist in residence for 2020, violinist Jennifer Pike. Last year she captivated the audience in the Octagon with an unforgettable rendition of Vaughan Williams’ The Lark Ascending. This year she plays another perennial favourite, Bruch’s Violin Concerto. The concert opens with Otto Nicolai’s stirring overture to his opera, The Merry Wives of Windsor.

After the interval the orchestra plays a selection of works by British composers. The final work in the concert is Eric Coates’s Suite The Three Elizabeths, which is based on the generations of the British Royal family. The conductor for this concert is John Wilson. Well-known for his regular collaborations with the BBC orchestras and for his work with the John Wilson orchestra, he has championed the work of Coates, and has made a series of recordings of the composer’s work with the BBC Philharmonic.

This promises to be a delightful concert for a summer evening and a highlight of the 2020 Festival.

Supported by

  • Duration: 2hr 30mins (includes interval)
  • Price: £15-£35