Image of The Aestus Quartet with instruments
Royal Northern College of Music

Aestus String Quartet

Coffee ConcertPavilion Arts Centrebutton--dates-and-timesDates & Times

Friday lunchtime recitals by students from Manchester's internationally renowned Royal Northern College of Music.

Leda Mileto violin
Chris Karwacinski violin
Beth Willett viola 
Clara Hope Simpson cello

The Aestus Quartet is formed by Leda (Italy), Chris (U.K.), (violins) Beth (U.K., viola) and Clara (Canada/U.S., cello). 

All current postgraduate students at the Royal Northern College of Music, they started playing together in October 2021. Their name is inspired by Britten’s String Quartet No 2, because its beginning is evocative of the back and forth flow of the sea tide (aestus in Latin). They have been shaping their ensemble skills through deep work on a repertoire ranging from classical to romantic to modern. 

In February 2022 they programmed and performed the Britten together with the composer’s arrangement of Purcell’s Chaconne in G minor for strings for the RNCM’s Spotlight concert series. In May 2022, they won the RNCM’s Weil Chamber Music Prize with a program including movements from both classical and modern compositions. Their future projects include reinforcing their core repertoire and exploring new ensemble settings, such as piano quintet, as well as widening their perspectives through international tuition and performances. 

The Aestus String Quartet appears by kind permission of the RNCM.

  • Duration: 1hr
  • Price: £7 advance, £10 on the door