Buxton International Festival

Manchester Camerata

with the Brodsky Quartet & Jess Gillam, 3:00pm The Octagonbutton--dates-and-timesDates & Times

S Feshareki Venus/ZOREH
A Glazunov Concerto for Alto Saxophone and String Orchestra Op. 109
C Shaw Entr’acte (version for string orchestra)
E Elgar Introduction and Allegro (with the Brodsky Quartet)
P Tchaikovsky Souvenir de Florence (version for string orchestra)

This concert brings together two outstanding ensembles, both hailing from Manchester and both celebrating their 50th anniversary. Joining them for this festive occasion is one of British music´s brightest young stars, saxophonist Jess Gillam. She plays Glazunov´s expressive and virtuosic Concerto for Alto Saxophone. The programme also features two compelling works by young female composers, Shiva Feshareki and Caroline Shaw and concludes with Tchaikovsky’s Souvenir de Florence, inspired by the composer´s rejuvenating stay in Italy in 1890.

Dates & Times

  • Duration: 2hr (includes interval)
  • Price: £15-£35