Buxton International Festival


NCO EnsembleSt John's Churchbutton--dates-and-timesDates & Times

A Schoenberg Verklärte Nacht Op. 4
S Barber Adagio for Strings
R Strauss Metamorphosen (Septet version)

For this meditative evening concert, string players from the Northern Chamber Orchestra play three masterpieces which invite us to reflect on impending night. Schoenberg’s late-romantic masterpiece Verklärte Nacht, or ‘Transfigured Night‘ was written in a frenzy of creativity in 1899, inspired by his meeting with Mathilde von Zemlinsky, with whom he fell deeply in love and whom he would later marry.

The concert ends with Richard Strauss’ haunting Metamorphosen, played here in the Septet version. Written against the backdrop of the closing years of the Second World War, it is an introspective work, melancholic, but also evoking memories of happier times.

Supported by Orchestras Live

  • Duration: 1hr
  • Price: £30